You are here

Welcome to our new Chairman

We would like to welcome Julie Armstrong as our new chair for this year. Julie was elected at our recent Annual General Meeting in January 2017. After her election Julie said:

First and foremost I and the members of the committee would like to sincerely thank Sue Ellis for her outstanding and stirling work as both Chairman and Secretary of Thatcham Historical Society. We wholeheartedly welcome Ann Dibble as our new Secretary. We have an interesting and varied programme of subjects and speakers for 2017. The programme is available on our website. The committee are always striving to provide a good range of subjects/speakers. Any ideas/suggestions for talks/speakers for 2018 would be most welcome. As always there is always a warm and friendly welcome. Please support the stirling work that the committee carries out - without their hard work the Society would not be able to function. In our 50th anniversary year we hold in grateful memory and gratitude those who founded Thatcham Historical Society - in particular Peter Allen, Bill Prosser and Ray Asher - not forgetting the many others that have helped the Society become what it is today. And of course we must remember with grateful thanks the people of Thatcham - throughout the centuries through to the present day - who have collectively made Thatcham the village and subsequently town that we all know and love today. May we continue to honour all their contributions